Waiting for Your Season!

 There have been many times in my life where I have felt like I fall behind my friends or family in terms of achievements or big life events. It can be hard to see the beauty & blessings in life when everyone you know is getting married, graduating, or having a child, among other things. You begin to feel like a failure. “Why have I not made it to  insert chosen milestone?” “Where is my Mr. Right?” “Will I ever have a perfect, high paying job?”

It can be so easy to get discouraged, discontent, & frankly disappointed. I’ll be the first to admit I didn’t imagine living my 23rd year on this earth not married. I’ve been with my boyfriend for seven years, & marriage is in our future. But it isn’t our season yet.

We live in a culture & world that has a “Me, me, me” mentality, along with an “I want it now” philosophy. When we keep our mental & spiritual states in the fast-forward, & focus on where we think we should be, we miss out on the beauty of now.

Yes, I’m not married yet. But I have an amazing boyfriend, wonderful job that I love, a family that truly cares, time for myself, freedom to do anything I wish…You get the picture.

Being content in your current circumstances doesn’t mean your giving up on your future or dreams. But it does mean your making a conscious decision to be happy with the blessings God has given you right now.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. {1 Thessalonians 5:16-18}

~~~

name_signature

Leave a Reply

