The Spice Girls!

If you grew up in the 90’s, then you know exactly who the Spice Girls are. The greatest girl band ever put together! After the zillionth time of viewing their amazingly awesome, girl power infused, cult classic Spice World, I realized that I miss this band so much!

Stop right now. I am not ashamed to say that I attended many a Spice Girls themed party!

First off, there was a girl (or personality) for every fan. Sporty, Scary, Posh, Baby, & Ginger. They all didn’t dress, think, or act the same. They had their own vibes, & even when we try to recreate their magic with new girl bands, the new bands all look the same and somewhat plastic. The Spice Girls were just at the right place & right time to create musical perfection.

Spice Girls

Secondly, let’s talk about the fashion. If there is anything that makes me want 90’s fashion to come back, it is because of these girls and their fashion sense. When I was little, I wanted to be them so bad. & now looking at there outfits in the year 2015, I have to admit they took chances with their clothes.

The Spice Girls were a British pop girl group formed in 1994. The group consisted of five members, who each later adopted nicknames given to them by fans in a magazine contest. Melanie Brown became Scary Spice, Melanie Chisholm became Sporty Spice, Emma Bunton became Baby Spice, Geri Halliwell became Ginger Spice, and Victoria Adams (later Beckham) became Posh Spice.My Idols since '97. Obsessed with their music, movie, video game, lollipops, etc. "Girl Power"! <3

Finally, the music. We all know the words to Wannabe, even ifΒ some of the lyricsΒ aren’t real words. Stop, Say You’ll Be There, 2 Become 1, Spice Up Your Life & many others show that these girls can sing.

Spice Girls at Brighton Beach, 1995.

The phenomenon of the Spice Girls shows that fans are still out here, wanting more music, or at least another tour, from these girls. Considering their reunion tour sold out in 38 seconds, I’d say that is reason enough to get back together!

spice girls

P.S.

Baby Spice is my favorite!

,.

~~~

name_signature

4 thoughts on “The Spice Girls!

  1. Gosh such a long time ago!! I was born in the 90’s, and grew up in the beginning of the 21st century, but even I have heard some of their music and I absolutely love “Wannabe.” I used to sing it with my best friend when we were young(er) teens. Shows how much of an effect those songs still have on people, and how good they were back then even according to today’s standards.

  2. I took a year off of my teaching job to flow them around the U.S. In 07/08 to see them on every US date of their reunion tour. No joke. My leanest blog entry has a link to a Risk podcast episode where they featured my story that includes part of the SG experience!

Leave a Reply

